Workflows Overview

There's no one-size-fits-all way to hire. That's why JazzHR created workflows that allow you to label the stages of your hiring process. These stages are like status updates on a candidate profile so it is clearly indicated when a candidate has newly applied to your job, when they've completed an interview, when they've been hired, or rejected.

Your company may have one hiring process or workflow for all of the positions you are filling. Or, your company may have different processes for different roles, like a technical role that requires extra projects or assessments. Other reasons to consider would be if your company hires differently per location or per department.

The added value of workflows is the ability to automate actions. Depending on your JazzHR plan, there are different options for automation. An example would be in your Phone Screen stage, you have an email attached to the stage inviting the candidate to schedule a time for their phone screen. We call these actions Workflow Helpers.

This article covers:

What are Workflows?

Workflows represent your hiring process, which is made up of stages, like Phone Screen or Interview. Workflows are created as templates and then selected for a job.

All candidates come into JazzHR in the "New" Workflow status. From there, you change his/her stage as they progress through the hiring process and eventually into a final Hired or Not Hired disposition. This makes it clear to your team where a candidate is in your hiring process.

Additionally, you can add Workflow Helpers (think of these are automated actions) to your stages to ensure that your process is consistent while automating repetitive tasks and reminders.

Please Note: Only certain Recruiting Roles—Super Administrators and Recruiting Administrators—can create and edit Workflow templates. By default, any User who has access to a candidate can update their workflow status.


Creating and Edit a Workflow

First, head to Settings and choose Workflows from the menu below and click the green button that says +Create Workflow.

From here, our default workflow template with Hiring Stages, Hired, and Not Hired Dispositions will display which gives you a general idea of where to begin.

To edit this template:

  1. Click the name or pencil icon to expand the workflow stages and edit
  2. Click the grey EDIT STATUSES button in the right corner to add a stage
  3. Scroll to the last stage and click +New Stage
  4. Type into the box to name the new stage, then click Save
  • To re-order the stages, click on the up and down arrow icon, then drag and drop stages
  • To delete a stage, click the trashcan icon

2020-02-27_11.29.04.gif 

Default Workflow Template

Select a workflow template that is the default for all of your jobs. Here's how:

  1. Click Settings
  2. Click Workflows
  3. If you have not yet created your workflow template, do so now. See the steps above
  4. Click the down arrow to the right of the workflow you'd like to make the default
  5. Select Make Default

Note: this will not change the template of any current jobs, just new jobs moving forward.

Selecting a Workflow Template for a Job

When creating a new job, your default workflow will already be selected but you can choose a different workflow from the Recruiting Workflow Template drop-down, under Advanced Options.

  2020-02-27_11.38.19.gif

Changing a Candidate's Workflow Stage

Be sure to keep candidate Workflow statuses up to date in order to properly track candidates. All candidates come into JazzHR in the New status. From there, you can change their status. Here's how:

  1. Click Candidates
  2. Find the applicant for whom you want to change the status
  3. Click on the Candidates name
  4. On the candidate's profile, click on the drop-down menu and select the appropriate stage

2018-09-27_10.50.35.gif


How to Select and Unlock a Job Workflow

Once a job is created, the workflow you selected (or your default) will be the hiring process for all candidates that apply to this job. By default, any changes you make to a Workflow template will affect any jobs that also are using that Workflow template.

You may realize after posting a job that the hiring process has changed or should be adjusted. You can do this by unlocking the workflow from the template, which creates a standalone workflow specific to an individual job.

Note:  When you unlock a job workflow from the template, the action CANNOT be undone.  Doing so breaks the link between this job's workflow and the designated workflow template.  Once a job workflow is unlocked, future changes you make to the workflow template will not transfer to that job.  

You can unlock a workflow from the template by:

  1. First, click Jobs and click the Job title you wish to edit.
  2. Click Edit Job.
  3. Click Workflow.
  4. Click Actions.
  5. Select Unlock from Template.

2018-06-18_17.27.24.gifFrom here, you can add, remove and reorder your job’s workflow stages. Changes will affect this job workflow only.


FAQs

How do I change a workflow for an existing job?

You cannot swap out the workflow for an existing job.  You can do either of the following:

      • Unlock the Workflow from the template and edit that one individually.
      • Clone the job, and reassign a new Workflow upon creation.

Check out the following video for a walkthrough on these options:

Am I able to tell which jobs are using a specific workflow template?

Yes, to check which jobs are using a specific workflow template:

  • Click Settings
  • Click Workflows.
  • Each workflow template will indicate how many jobs are using it. Hover over the indicator to view the specific jobs.

  

Can I hide old workflow templates that I no longer use?

Yes, you can hide them using the Archive function.  To archive templates you no longer use:

  1. Click Settings.
  2. Click Workflows.
  3. Click the action menu next to the workflow you'd like to archive and select Archive

What's the difference between Archiving and Deleting a workflow template?

Archiving a workflow template moves it out of the Workflow Templates list and so that template cannot be selected when creating new jobs.  Archived workflows can be recovered in the future if you desire.  Deleting a workflow template removes it from your JazzHR account forever.  Deleted workflows CANNOT be recovered.

Can I report on my workflows?

AbsolutelyClick Settings > Reports and then select one of our Workflow reports under "Standard Reports."

Who can edit a workflow?

Super Administrators and Recruiting Administrators can create and edit Workflow templates. Any User, on the other hand, who has the ability to edit a job can also assign a Workflow to a job and update that job's Workflow. By default, any User who has access to a candidate can update their workflow status.

Was this article helpful?
6 out of 20 found this helpful