What is Workflow Versioning?
Workflow Versioning is an update to the way JazzHR admins can edit workflows in order to protect the data integrity of Workflow reports.
When a Workflow template is changed, the system creates a new version of the template behind the scenes (you will not see any changes to the interface). Workflow reporting allows you to report on a specific version of a Workflow. This ensures that even when statuses get deleted, added, or reordered, we can provide accurate reporting data.
When you edit a workflow in JazzHR, only certain actions will create a new version of the workflow: adding, deleting, or reordering a workflow status. Renaming statuses and editing workflow helpers will NOT trigger a new version of the workflow.
Before this update, users were able to make all the updates to the workflow on one page. Moving forward, the edits that will cause a new version of the workflow to be created will be nested under an “Edit Statuses” button. Before changing the workflow, you'll be reminded that these changes may impact reporting, so it's important to be intentional when editing the workflow.
Unlocking a Workflow
Unlocking a workflow template within a job will also cause a new version of the workflow to be created. Note that you're not able to clone a Job with an unlocked Workflow unless you turn that unlocked Workflow into a template first. Trying to do so results in the following message:
Instead, turn the job-specific workflow into a template (under Settings >Workflows). Then, assign your cloned Job to this template. This will help to keep your data consistent across jobs.